top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Kotar

4 weeks ago

1 month ago today I left for New York, how is it that I feel like a different person? What I think about the most are the patients I took care of and the little catholic church I sat in for 30 minutes. All the sights to see in NYC and those are my memories. Those must be the memories that matter the most to me....I did really try to see other things, the 911 memorial, closed....not just closed, but ROPED off, I'm only 5'3", so no I couldn't see inside the reflection pool. That was a $50.00 Uber mistake. I went to the Flat Iron building, it was cool, but closed and under construction and I tried to eat as much good carry out as I could...so much that I think I gained weight!


This last week in quarantine has been great, my friends have dropped off awesome things to welcome me back and I know I will fall back into my life as it once was! But I feel a large about of sadness as I am no longer there helping, I know....is was only 21 DAYS, how can that be? I read the hotel facebook page and the group texts and all I think is, I should still be there. The reality is that I don't need to be there, I need to be here, for my kids, my friends, my family, and my students. They have plenty of help in NY now, and when I first arrived they did not, I will always feel like I left a tiny little part of my heart there. I think this was bigger than I ever expected, which brings me to the next topic....let's talk about the word hero. I'm SO flattered by some who have referred to me as a hero, but I only did what any person with the skills and support would do.


I don't know how relevant my blog will continue to be because I'm obviously not in NYC anymore, nor am I "saving NYC"....PS, you know that was my goofy sense of humor and I just thought it was funny at the time, I'm NOT that full of myself! However, I don't feel my work is done, there needs to be more that comes from this, I'm not sure what yet, I just want to make a bigger difference, maybe that will be through speaking engagements, education or who knows....maybe I write a damn book!


This will probably be my last post on this blog, and that makes me SAD TOO...geez I am a mess! No, really, I couldn't have done all of this without my cheering section, you are all amazing friends and I am a lucky girl! Here are some pictures I never had the chance to post, one is with my friend Jasmine (she was on my floor, my bus and we shared an Uber to Newark...she had a ROUGH assignment every single day, the tractor trailers are the sad reality/reminder of all the lives lost in this awful pandemic, and I couldn't leave out the pic I took on my way out to donate that damn cooler I had to live out of for 3 weeks).






49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day Off

Frustrated

I thought if I blogged my journey in NY it might be something I would like to look back on the remember, but I want to forget about these little memories! Every day is starting to run together and so

bottom of page