top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Kotar

Day 4

First day done, over, and it really hasn't even begun! Now that I have started working, my little updates won't include pictures. Today was hospital orientation, which was so WEIRD. They focused on training us how to use a glucometer for about an hour...very inefficient use of time. Then another hour on how to put a gown, gloves and a mask on, again, ineffective use of time. We were also told that we could walk into our patient's room and they could already be dead. If they are dead, get them off the ventilator asap because the next person needs it. The one nurse that took a patient said the ventilators are so old that you can't put the O2 at 100%. For those not in healthcare, this is NOT GOOD. No time was actually spent teaching any of us HOW to use the ventilator, but at least we can take a blood sugar, because that's important. I would rank breathing a little higher on the list of priorities, but the state has to have proof that we know how to put a gown on and take a blood sugar.


When I told them I am a Pediatric Nursing Instructor they got really excited and said they may put me on the education side, which would be AMAZING! They said they have lost a lot of educators because they have been out sick and 2 passed away. This is so crazy and unfortunately death is becoming a part of this community's new reality. They all know so many people that have died. Our team leader said it was truly like going into a war zone. I just got back to my room, ate took a shower and have to go to bed....I will have a lot more to share tomorrow! I really never thought I would be reporting from the frontlines, I always dreamt it would be from the eye of the storm in a hurricane, but here I am. Stay safe and smart, don't be a Covidiot!

134 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day Off

bottom of page