top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Kotar

I survived and so did they...barely

Where do I start? Got on the bus to the hospital at 5:45am finally on my way home at 8:00pm....There are so MANY things that are just wrong about all of this...its like I stepped back into the 1940’s, the hospital is SO OLD, and so are the practices, I realize I’m Brenda from the block in The Bronx, but it’s freakin 2020!!!

One patient was a burn, she was heating up acetone to remove her gel nails...not the brightest crayon in the box...🙄


Another patient was a below the knee amputee that I didn‘t know about until I got INTO the room....I had to quickly remind him who was in charge today, he was rude and reminded me of why I’m a Peds nurse!


Then WHILE I’m on the phone with a family member some asshole “research” nurse yells at me and says I have to go into my patients room with her to infuse some “new” med, as if I was her personal assistant! So I hop up and run to help her, Ive never met someone SO nasty for no reason! She yelled at me for not closing to door to the room (in front of the patient) then says “wheres the med?” I said “I got it for you, off the lid of the trash can, I’m pretty sure your not suppose to do that either!” Later the one sweet patient I had said “I was so happy you stood up to that mean nurse!”

The patient load is REALLY HARD, to be fair the staff nurses were very nice and it was so hard for them....we came in not knowing where anything is or how to chart and it’s a TERRIBLE way to fix this problems they’re having! We will never go to the same place twice! SO DUMB!!! the first time I peed was at 12:30 and I got lunch from 2:45 to 3.....Tomorrow will be better, at least I know the charting system and where things are! Nothing like learning on the fly and at least I didn’t have a Ventilator...today anyway! Good night!

114 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Day Off

bottom of page