top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Kotar

Laundry day in the city

Today was a good day, I reported downstairs at 5:30am and still no assignment, but they told us 200 nurses would get a text within the hour for an assignment, that didn't happen for me. Instead of going out I worked most of the day for MCC assigning Virtual Simulation to take place of their clinicals they can no longer do because of the "virus"! My new friend Sierra and I went out to get lunch around 1:15 and at 1:20 got the text to report back to the hotel immediately. I got an assignment, Jacobi Medical Center in the Bronx. I originally was SO excited because I thought it was a children's hospital, and I was thinking "I can take my backpack and a lunch, this is going to be a walk in the park!" Then I looked it up and started reading reviews....oh my....how do I even describe it? It's not a children's hospital, it's an adult hospital with a small Peds ER and some clinics, etc. Most people said it should be shut down, and said it should get 0/5 stars, the people are rude, and they waited for like 16 hours to be helped. I asked a nurse who lived in the Bronx (20 years ago) and she said well just stick your finger in the bullet holes and hold it there so they don't bleed out! WTF? I said "well, all I know about the Bronx is Jenny from the block", she said, "oh yeah, your going to be on fire!" Okay, well thats reassuring...I can't wait for this shit show!!


Sierra and I went back to the same pizza place as the other day, because it was good and we can't go too far. On our way there was a man completely hunched over to one side, he actually looked like he was just taking a nap like that, I was impressed, I wish I could sleep like that. We both talked about how we should help him, but he honestly looked pretty comfortable and a police officer walked right by him unphased, so we kept walking. Next thing, I'm paying at the pizza place, the sleeping man who appeared to need help comes through to door and snatches 3 moon pies off the counter. He was nimble and agile, he totally deserved the moon pies, it was a brilliant move, it was timed correctly as the cashier was bending over to get a bag! I said "he just stole 3 moon pies" well they can't hear me, I'm all masked up, I wore 2 masks today. I kept saying "he just stole 3 moon pies" and the lady next to me said, "it happens all the time, it's New York City!" I said "oh, well, I'm not from here"...I'm sure she was thinking "CLEARLY". I couldn't stop laughing and I was deprived of oxygen with my masks on, all I could think was, I'm going down, I'm going to pass out! I haven't even started working and i'm going to fall in a deli of sort and end up with a head injury and theres no ventilators in the tri-state area!


I have since talked myself down about this assignment, it will be fine, I will take nothing personal...they will probably yell at me and I really don't like to be yelled at, but it's all going to be okay!!???!!! I can do anything for 18 days!


I did laundry today too, we can send it out, but I read on the reviews items tend to just go missing. I didn't bring a ton of clothes anyway, mostly just scrubs (which I will have to send out, to make sure the water is hot enough to kill the asshole virus). So I turned my shower into a washing machine (it was already pretending to be a refrigerator), then I turned it back into a shower, took a shower, and now it's the fridge again! In your prayers, could you pray no one steels my scrubs? Thank you in advance! I'll keep you posted on tomorrows happenings!


175 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day Off

bottom of page